Anthony Thomson named UK chair of Australian buy now, pay later firm Zip

By Oliver Smith on Monday 11 October 2021

Alternative Lending

The co-founder of Metro Bank, Atom Bank and 86 400 has a new gig.

Anthony Thomson named UK chair of Australian buy now, pay later firm Zip
Image source: Anthony Thomson.

After an incredible run co-founding three disruptive financial businesses, Anthony Thomson has now entered the buy now, pay later (BNPL) sector after being named chair of Australian firm Zip’s UK arm.

Zip has been growing incredibly aggressively, launching in the UK in February, then in May acquiring European buy now, pay later provider Twisto and investing $50m in Indian BNPL rival ZestMoney last month.

Thomson’s arrival on the fintech’s UK board comes after his own Australian neobank 86 400 was acquired by NAB in February for £160m as the digital banking sector faced an income squeeze from Australia’s rock-bottom interest rates.

Zip was created to give consumers an easier and more flexible way of buying the things they both want and need,” said Thomson on his appointment.

“Consumer credit can be complex and opaque, things that Zip has been specifically built to avoid. The UK BNPL market is at a very early stage, so to join the board at this time, at an important moment for the industry, is very exciting.”

Interestingly while Zip is established in Australia and counts over 7.3m customers across 13 markets, Thomson is only chair of Zip’s UK entity where the brand is relatively new.

Sign up for our newsletters

Your daily 7am download of all things alternative finance and fintech.

Fintech and alternative finance headlines with an exclusive Editor's Note each week. Delivered Monday at midday.

AltFi's new weekly US newsletter breaking down the ins and outs of America's burgeoning fintech sector. Delivered Monday 9am EST/ 6am PST.

Companies in this Article:


More like this:

Exclusive: Tide scoops up Funding Options in its first acquisition

Editor's Pick

29 November 2022
Oliver Smith

The AltFi Awards 2022: Here are the winners!

Editor's Pick

2 December 2022
Oliver Smith

MarketFinance rebrands as Kriya

30 November 2022
Daniel Lanyon